Talks & Discussions

Go to current week.⬇

Week1
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Feb 7



Galaxy Clusters:the Crossroads of Astrophysics and Cosmology

Tue, Feb 8
10:30am
13.00pm
SSR
aud
Organizational Meeting Discussion
All participants
All
All those interested are welcome.
recording
Wed, Feb 9
13:00
AUD
Discussion (continuation)
All


Week 2
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Feb 14
12:15pm
14:00-15:00 15:45
Aud
Aud
Aud
E.Bodenschatz
N. Goldenfeld
All
Turbulence - What is it?
Turbulent boundary layers - tutorial
Discussion on boundary layer and pipe turbulence
Blackboard Lunch Seminar, All
Turbulence and astrophysics people are welcome
Tue, Feb 15
10:30-11:30
13:00-13:50
14:00-14:30
SSR
Aud
Aud
G. Falkovich
R. Kerr
N. Vladimirova
Gross-Pitaevsky equation -tutorial
Vortex stretching as a mechanism for quantum kinetic energy decay
Optical turbulence
Launch of the quantum turbulence
focus week
Wed, Feb 16
13:00-13:50
14:00-14:30
14:30-15:00
Aud
Aud
Aud
T. Gasenzer
B. Nowak
D. Sexty
Matter-wave turbulence: Beyond kinetic scaling
Quantum turbulence in an ultra-cold Bose gas
Weak vs strong turbulence in relativistic field theory

Thu, Feb 17
10:00- 11:00
13:00-13:50
14:00-14:25
14:30-14:25
SSR
Aud
Aud
Aud
Zhen-Su She
D. Lathrop
L. Chevillard
G. Krstulovic
A generalized similarity analysis of wall bounded turbulent flows
Quantum turbulence, reconnection, and quantum fluid fixed points
Experiments on quantum turbulence in a cryogenic wind tunnel
Anomalous vortex ring velocities induced by thermally-excited Kelvin waves and counterflow effects in superfluids


Week3
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Feb 21





Tue, Feb 22
13:0013:50
AUD
B Shivamoggi
Quantized vortex motion

Wed, Feb 23
13:30-14:30
AUD
M. Abel & J. Bowman
Reduced Order Modeling for turbulent flows
Discussion
Thu, Feb 24
13:00-13:50
AUD
C. Cambon
From wave (weak) turbulence to strong turbulence
rotating turbulence
Fri, Feb 25
15:30-17:00
AUD
J. Bec, P. Muratore-Ginanneschi
Duscussion on Burgers model
Burgers turbulence
Optimal protocols and optimal transport in stochastic thermodynamics


Week4
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Feb 28





Tue, Mar 1
13:00-13:50
AUD
M. Wilczek
PDF Method Approach to Vorticity Statistics in Turbulent Flows

Wed, Mar 2
13:00-14:30
AUD
J. Bec
B. Mehlig
Particles in flows
Discussion of recent results
and ongoing work
Thu, Mar 3
13:00-13:50
AUD
Zhen-Su She
A closure solution to Prandtl's boundary layer problem of wall-bounded turbulent flow

Fri, Mar 4
13:00-13:50
AUD
Hua Xia
Turbulence and condensates in fluid layers
review of experimental work


Week5
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Mar 7
12:15-13:45
AUD
A. Brandenburg
and K-H Raedler
Turbulent transport in stratified media
Tutorial and discussion
Tue, Mar 8
10:00-11:00
13:00-14:00
14:10-15:00
15:30-16:15
SSR
AUD
AUD
AUD
Discussion
A. Lazarian
A. Bereznyak
Yasuhito Narita
Planet Formation
Magnetic reconnection in weakly turbulent astrophysical fluids
Spectral Slope and Kolmogorov Constant of MHD Turbulence
Spatio-temporal structures of solar wind turbulence
open discussion
http://prl.aps.org/abstract/PRL/v106/i7/e075001
Wed, Mar 9
13:00-14:00
14:10-15:00
AUD
AUD
G. Eyink

H. Aluie
Spontaneous Stochasticity, Stochastic Flux-Freezing and Turbulent
Magnetic Reconnection
The range of scale coupling, also known as scale-locality, in MHD
turbulent cascades.

Thu, Mar 10
12:15-13:15
14:15-15:15
AUD
AUD
M. Brieggen and all
M. Wilkinson and all
Turbulence in Galaxy Clusters
Discussion on planet formation
joint discussion with the Astro Program
Fri, Mar 11
11:00-12:00
13:00
MSR
AUD
H. Klahr
S. Boldyrev
The role of turbulence in planet formation
Universal regimes in MHD turbulence


Week6
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Mar 14
14:30
SSR
Y Kaneda, C Chan, J Bowman
The Pseudospectral Method: Recent Advances and Prospects
Part 1 of the Discussion
Tue, Mar 15
13:00-14:00
AUD
K. Khanin
Intermediate disorder regime for directed polymers and KPZ scalings

Wed, Mar 16





Thu, Mar 17
13:00-14:00
AUD
A. Kritsuk
Supersonic turbulence in star-forming clouds

Fri, Mar 18
09:30-11:00
11:10-12:10
SSR
AUD
C Chan, J Bowman, M Roberts
E. Kuznetsov
The Pseudospectral Method: Recent Advances and Prospects
Vortex line representation and breaking of vortex field lines in hydrodynamics
Part 2 of the Discussionjavascript/;

Week7
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Mar 21
14:00
AUD
M Wilkinson
A test-tube model for rainfall

Tue, Mar 22
13:00
14:00
AUD
AUD
E Villermaux
V Lebedev
Tutorial on mixing
Passive scalar transport in peripheral regions of random flows

Wed, Mar 23
11:00
12:30
SSR
AUD
D. Tordella
J. Bowman
On collective behaviour of travelling 3D perturbations in shear flows
Casimir Cascades in 2D Turbulence
informal discussion
Thu, Mar 24
11:00
13:00
SSR
AUD
Y. Kaneda
D. Tordella
Some "Non"s in Turbulence -- Nonlinear, Nonlocal, Nonequilibrium,...
Small scale anisotropy in turbulent shearless mixing

Fri, Mar 25






Week8
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Mar 28
11:00
13:00
14:10
AUD
AUD
AUD
H. Klahr
G. Ahlers
D. Lohse
Rayleigh Benard Convection in Rotating shear flows
Turbulent Rayleigh Benard Convection
Turbulent Taylor Vortex Flow
FOCUS WEEK
Tue, Mar 29
11:00
13:00
14:10
AUD
AUD
AUD
E.Bodenschatz
C. Meneveau
B. Hof
Anisotropic Turbulence
The wind turbine array boundary layer
Resolving Reynold's Riddle

Wed, Mar 30
11:00
13:00
14:00
AUD
AUD
MSR
E. Brown
F. Busse
P. Mucha
Dynamics of the Large Scale Circulation in T-RBC
What convection can teach us about the nature of turbulence
Community Detection in Multislice Networks
KITP Colloq.
Thu, Mar 31
11:00
13:00
14:10
AUD
AUD
AUD
R Pandit
J. Schumacher
V. Lebedev
Time scales, persistence, and dynamic mutiscaling in two-dimensional, homogeneous, isotropic fluid turbulence
Conditionally unstable moist convection
Coexistence of a coherent vortex and turbulence in two dimensions

Fri, Apr 1
11:00
13:00
SSR
AUD
W. Lyra
B McKeon
Stability of vortices and transition to turbulence (informal)
Turbulent boundary layers: current research and future directions


Week 9
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Apr 4
11:00
13:00
AUD
AUD
M Shats
J. Mellado
Capillary wave turbulence
Buoyancy Reversal at Cloud Boundaries

Tue, Apr 5
11:00
13:00
14:00
SSR
AUD
AUD
R. De Puits
S. Weiss
J. Niemela
Viscous Boundary Layers in turbulent RBC
Turbulent RBC Experiments with Rotation
Turbulent RBC Experiments at high Rayleigh and Taylor numbers

Wed, Apr 6
11:00
13:00
SSR
AUD
B. Ecke
P. Tong
Rotating turbulent Rayleigh-Benard convection - A new twist on old data
Thermal dissipation field and its statistics in turbulent RBC

Thu, Apr 7
11:00
13:00
SSR
AUD
M. Chertkov
B. Birnir
Power Grid (tend. title)
The Invariant measure (pdf) of Navier-Stokes

Fri, Apr 8
11:00
AUD
R. Stevens
Numerical simulations of (non)rotating high Ra RBC


Week 10
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Apr 11
12:00-13:00
14:15-15:15
AUD
AUD
M Voit
D. Lohse
The Astrophysics of Galaxy Clusters
tRBC: states and reversals
Director's blackboard lunch
Tue, Apr 12
13:00-14:00
AUD
E Kartashova
A toy model of wave turbulence

Wed, Apr 13
NEW TIME!




Thu, Apr 14
10:30-11:15
13:00-14:00
SSR
AUD
D. Funfschilling
E. Scannapieco
Experiments of RBC at high Prandtl and intermediate Rayleigh Numbers
Subgrid and DNS modeling of turbulence in clusters and galaxies
report of work in progress
joint session with Clusters program
Fri, Apr 15
11:00-12:00
AUD
T Gotoh
Classical and Quantum Turbulence in D-dimensions


Week 11
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Apr 18
12:00-13:00
AUD
P Goldreich
Turbulence Provides the Key to Reading the Record of Ancient Impacts
Director's blackboard lunch
Tue, Apr 19
10:45-15:00
Pacifc Ocean

Whales?

Wed, Apr 20
10:30-11:30
13:00-14:00
SSR
AUD
T. Ishihara
M. Shats
Conditional statistics near strong thin shear layers in DNS of high Re turbulence
Structure of turbulence in thick fluid layers

Thu, Apr 21
13:00-14:30
AUD
S. Malinovski
What does turbulence do to clouds
Introduction
Fri, Apr 22






Week 12
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Apr 25





Tue, Apr 26
10:30-12:00
13:00-14:30
SSR
AUD
S.Stechmann
J. Teixeira
Multiscale Models for Atmospheric Convection and Waves
Turbulence, clouds and climate models
overview talk
verview talk
Wed, Apr 27
13:00-14:30
AUD
J. Fredriksen
Subgrid modeling for geophysical flows
overview talk
Thu, Apr 28
11:00-12:00
13:00-14:30
SSR
S. Malinovski
Z. Warhaft
Turbulence in the Stratocumulus Top
Experiments on the entrainment of inertial particles in turbulent flows:
towards a better understanding of entrainment in clouds
overview talk
Fri, Apr 29
11:00
AUD
P Le Doussal
What can disordered systems tell us about turbulence
Review

Week 13
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, May 2
13:00-14:15
AUD
W. Grabowski
Growth of cloud droplets and raindrops in turbulent clouds
Overview talk
Tue, May 3
14:00-15:00
AUD
R. Shaw
Cloud Droplets in Turbulence
change
Wed, May 4
11:00-11:45
13:00-14:00
MSR
AUD
G. Ahlers/S. Weiss
A. Davis
Turbulent convection with phase change
Turbulence impacts on radiative transfer in/around clouds

Thu, May 5
11:00-12:00
13:00-14:00
MSR
AUD
J. F. Pinton
N.Ouellette
Turbulence and the Dynamo
Lagrangian and Eulerian Nonlinearities in 2D Weak Turbulence

Fri, May 6






Week 14
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, May 9
12:15
13:45
AUD
AUD
G Falkovich
Amita Das
Emerging and broken symmetries of the turbulent state
Collision-less stopping of electron current pulses in an inhomogeneous Plasma
Director's blackboard lunch
45 min + discussion
Tue, May 10
13:00
AUD
F Bouchet
Non-equilibrium statistical mechanics approaches to coherent 2D and geophysical flows and recent experimental results
45 min + discussion
Wed, May
11
13:00
15:30
AUD
5607F
South Hall
E.Bodenschatz
Len Sander
The Göttingen Turbulence Facility
How to do 6 impossible things before breakfast
informal
5607F
South Hal
Thu, May 12
13:00
AUD
K. Xia
Turbulent Thermal Convection with (Partially) Free-Slip Boundary Conditions

Fri, May 13
11:00
11:30
MSR
MSR
Liubin Pan
Alexei Kritsuk
"Mixing in Highly Compressible Turbulence"
"Magnetized Turbulence in the Multiphase ISM"


Week 15
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, May 16
13:00
AUD
A. Pouquet
The role of helicity in rotating turbulence

Tue, May 17
13:00
14:15
AUD
AUD
A. Lanotte
J. Scheel
Small scale properties of particles in turbulent flow
Viscous and thermal boundary layers in turbulent RBC

Wed, May 18





Thu, May 19





Fri, May 20
11:30-12:15
AUD
S Radhakrishnan
Wall-layer modeling for Large-eddy simulation of high Reynolds number boundary layers


Week 16
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, May 23
13:00
AUD
V. Steinberg
Elastic Turbulence
Overview talk
Tue, May 24
13:00
14:15
AUD
AUD
F Toschi
G Boffetta
Finite size particles in turbulence
Polymer Heat Transport Enhancement in Thermal Convection: the Case of Rayleigh-Taylor Turbulence

Wed, May 25
13:00
13:10
16:00
AUD
AUD
AUD
G Falkovich
E Guazzelli
Initiative group
Steven A Orszag - obituary
Falling clouds of particles
Lagrangian discussion

Thu, May 26
13:00
16:00
AUD
AUD
P. K. Yeung
Initiative group
Turbulence on Petascale Computers: what have we learned, and what we hope to learn
Lagrangian discussion

Fri, May 27
11:30
13:00
AUD
AUD
V. Steinberg
P. Armitage
Turbulent mixing of passive tracers on small scales of a channel flow
Turbulence and Protoplanetary Discs (tentative)


Week 17
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, May 30




holiday
Tue, May 31
11:30-12:00
13:00
MSR
AUD
D Vincenzi
L. Biferale
Deformation of a flexible polymer in a random flow with long correlation time
Rayleigh Taylor in stratified flows

Wed, Jun 1
13:00
14:15
AUD
AUD
H. Xu
D. Mitra
Bulk Turbulence in Dilute Polymer Solutions
Passive polymers in turbulent channel flows

Thu, Jun 2
13:15
AUD
P. Perlekar
Homogeneous, isotropic, turbulence with polymer additives

Fri, Jun 3








*Aud=Auditorium, SSR=Small Seminar Room, MSR=Main Seminar Room FR=Founders' Room PL=Porthole Lounge


TOP⇧



About · Blog · Pricing · Privacy · Terms · Support · Upgrade
Contributions to http://turbulence11.wikispaces.com are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution Share-Alike 3.0 License.
Portions not contributed by visitors are Copyright 2011 Tangient LLC.